Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 8th, 2009

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Quote of the Day:

“Most of us spend half our time wishing for things we could have if we didn’t spend half our time wishing.”

Alexander Woollcott

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Bailey is on a daily medication to calm down his aggression toward Max and us. With this medication, amitriptyline hci, he is calmer and plays nice with Max and doesn’t try to slash and gnash me and Michael when we have to medicate, groom or play with him.

Now the daily pill that Bailey has to take is very small. It is only 10 mg. I do know by his frothing mouth that it doesn’t taste very good. I can relate because I take medicine that doesn’t taste good to me either.

The fun comes when I attempt to administer this medication. My method is to catch Bailey when he is lying down and snoozy. I get behind him so that he can’t slither away; get his head in the right position – preferably head back – for easy insertion of said pill.

Ha! Let the games begin. First Bailey begins squirming, I find I have to straddle him or sit down and get him between my legs so he can’t get away. I work at opening his mouth with a clear shot to the back of his mouth. This maneuver is not easy when Bailey’s head is moving around. If I’m lucky, I get the pill in at first shot and massage his throat and mission accomplished. If not, I either put the pill on top of his bottle and try another time or I just grab him up and get the pill in his mouth frothing or not and massage his throat until the pill is gone. Mind you I do give him treats to get the icky taste out of his mouth.

Lucky for me once the deed is done, he forgives me and we go on about our day as though we had not gone through the previous histrionics.

mz. em

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Currently Reading:

The Oath” by John Lescroart” by John Lescroart

New American Standard Bible

Alcoholics Anonymous – Fourth Edition” by Alcoholics Anonymous

Hope for Today” by Al-Anon

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Read Full Post »